Category: Awards & Honors


2021-2022 Brown Graduate Fellowships Awarded

$140,000 in Institutional Funding Allotted to 14 Iowa State Students

By Caitlin Ware, Iowa State University Office of the Vice President for Research

Fourteen Iowa State University students have been selected to receive $140,000 in Brown Graduate Fellowship Program funding to support strategic university research over the next year. Established in 2011 and administered by the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR), the annual Brown Graduate Fellowship Program is used to advance Iowa State research in…



By Elaine Watkins-Miller, Iowa State University Foundation

The Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust of Muscatine, Iowa, has committed $243,585 to provide state-of-the-art instrumentation that will help advance research in antimicrobial resistance, infectious disease diagnostics and more at Iowa State University. “Antimicrobial resistance is an urgent and serious threat to global health because it impedes or prevents effective treatments of a range of…


Six Iowa State researchers named AAAS Fellows for advancing science

By Mike Krapfl, Iowa State University News Service

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is honoring six Iowa State University researchers for work in engineering, math and biological sciences. The six Iowa State researchers have been named to this year’s class of 489 AAAS Fellows “because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications,” the association announced today. The six…


OVPR Welcomes 29 Faculty to Research Collaboration Catalysts 2020-2021 Cohort

By Dan Kirkpatrick, Iowa State University Office of the Vice President for Research

Twenty-nine faculty members will participate in the Research Collaboration Catalysts 2020-2021 cohort, designed to train the next generation of research team leaders. The Research Collaboration Catalysts program is based on Team Science principles. Using evidence-based training, tools, and resources, participating Iowa State faculty will develop strong leadership skills and learn how to manage challenges that…


Paul Canfield of ISU, Ames Laboratory Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

By Mike Krapfl, Iowa State University News Service

Paul Canfield, who designs and discovers new materials and properties, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Canfield is a Distinguished Professor in Liberal Arts and Sciences and the Robert Allen Wright Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Iowa State University. He’s also a senior scientist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory. Canfield, noting the…


National Academy of Inventors recognizes Iowa State’s Narasimhan, Rao

By Mike Krapfl, Iowa State University News Service

The National Academy of Inventors is adding Iowa State University’s Balaji Narasimhan and Guru Rao to its roster of academy fellows. The academy announced today it is recognizing Narasimhan – an Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, the Vlasta Klima Balloun Faculty Chair and the director of Iowa State’s Nanovaccine Institute – and Rao – an associate vice president for research –…


AAAS recognizes six researchers for distinguished work advancing science

By Mike Krapfl, Iowa State University News Service

The world’s largest general scientific society is recognizing six Iowa State researchers for their “scientifically or socially distinguished” work in biological sciences, chemistry, engineering and agriculture. The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) today announced this year’s class of 443 fellows, including these six from Iowa State: William Beavis, professor and the G.F. Sprague Chair…


Iowa State University Professor Honored for Research Leadership

By Brian Meyer, Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

The senior associate dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Iowa State University has been honored for his leadership in promoting national research initiatives. Joe Colletti, who also serves as associate director of the Iowa Agriculture and Home Economics Experiment Station, was presented the Excellence in Leadership national award by the Experiment…