News header


Iowa State University President Wendy Wintersteen (middle) takes a moment to pose with university researchers Cristina Poleacovschi, assustant professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering (left), and Monica Haddad, associate professor of community and regional planning.

Iowa State research teams honored at Nov. 2 reception

By Paula Van Brocklin, Office of the Vice President for Research

Iowa State University President Wendy Wintersteen hosted a reception at The Knoll on Friday, Nov. 2, to honor the researchers and scholars who have received internal funding awards over the past five years. The event was coordinated by the Office of the Vice President for Research.

Speaking to a crowd of approximately 60 principal investigators and their guests, which included co-investigators, colleagues, department chairs and deans, Wintersteen congratulated the recipients of the following awards:

In her remarks during the reception, Wintersteen praised the university’s research and scholarly teams for their innovative discoveries and for helping to advance Iowa State’s research mission by leveraging this internal funding effectively to enable new research directions. She also said she was proud of the Office of the Vice President for Research for its leadership and creative vision in developing interdisciplinary funding opportunities. In turn, vice president for research Sarah Nusser thanked Wintersteen for supporting high-risk, high-reward research endeavors.

For more information about Iowa State’s internal funding opportunities, please visit the Grants Hub website.